Chamber Concerts in Kouklia

As always, the highlight of the International Pharos Chamber Music Festival is the series of chamber concerts at the Royal Manor House in Kouklia – one of the finest surviving monuments of Frankish architecture in Cyprus and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Organised for the 19th consecutive year, the Festival encompasses four concerts, from Saturday 1 until Tuesday 4 June 2019, with some of the world’s most celebrated and finest soloists: amongst them, Alexander Ghindin – unanimously acclaimed by critics and music lovers as one of the most charismatic and original pianists of our times and winner in such prestigious competitions as the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow (the youngest ever laureate), the International Queen Elisabeth Piano Competition in Brussels, and the Cleveland International Piano Competition; the sensational violinist Christel Lee – First-prize winner of the 2015 International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition in Helsinki; violinists Anna Tifu and Doriane Gable as well as pianist Olga Zado – considered amongst the leading female musicians of their generation; the return visits of the remarkable Lars Anders Tomter (described as the “Giant of the Nordic Viola”), and pianist Ashley Wass (described by Gramophone as “a thoroughbred who possesses the enviable gift to turn almost anything he plays into pure gold”), violist David Abrahamyan and cellist Alexander Chaushian. The Festival will also welcome the wonderful Cypriot soprano Zoe Nicolaidou.

W.A Mozart (1756-1791): Piano Quartet No.1 in G minor, K.478 (1785)
Christel Lee (violin), David Abrahamyan (viola), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Olga Zado (piano)

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): Five pieces for Violin, Viola & Piano (1955)
Christel Lee (violin), David Abrahamyan (viola), Olga Zado (piano)


Manuel de Falla (1876-1946): Siete canciones populares Españolas: El paño Moreno, Seguidilla Murciana, Jota, Asturiana
Carlos Guastavino (1912-2000): La rosa y el sauce
Zoe Nicolaidou (soprano), Olga Zado (piano)

Josef Suk (1874-1935): Piano Quartet in A minor, Op.1 (1891)
Christel Lee (violin), Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Olga Zado (piano)

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Sonata for Violin & Piano No.2 in D major, Op.94 (1943)
Anna Tifu (violin), Ashley Wass (piano)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Trio for Clarinet, Cello & Piano in A minor, Op.114 (1891)
Arranged for Viola, Cello & Piano
Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Ashley Wass (piano)


César Franck (1822-1890): Piano Quintet in F minor (1879)
Christel Lee (violin), Doriane Gable (violin), David Abrahamyan (viola), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Ashley Wass (piano)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op.11 (1797)
Christel Lee (violin), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Alexander Ghindin (piano)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893): Songs: Otchevo, Lullaby
Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943): Songs: Ne poi krasavitsa, Lilacs, Dream, Spring Waters
Zoe Nicolaidou (soprano), Olga Zado (piano)

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943): Piano Trio élégiaque No.1 in G minor (1892)
Anna Tifu (violin), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Alexander Ghindin (piano)


Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943): Piano Trio élégiaque No.2 in D minor, Op.9 (1893)
Anna Tifu (violin), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Ashley Wass (piano)

Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849): Selections of pieces for solo Piano
- Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op.60
- Impromptu No.1 in A-flat major, Op.29
- Grande valse brillante in E-flat major, Op.18
- Mazurka in B minor, Op.33, No.4
- Nocturne in E major, Op.62, No.2
- Scherzo No.1 in B minor, Op.20
Alexander Ghindin (piano)


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): Piano Quintet No. 2 in A major, Op. 81 (1887)
Christel Lee (violin), Doriane Gable (violin), Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Alexander Chaushian (cello), Alexander Ghindin (piano)

Piano: Alexander Ghindin***,  Ashley Wass, Olga Zado,
Violin: Anna Tifu, Christel Lee, Doriane Gable
Viola: Lars Anders Tomter, David Abrahamyan
Cello: Alexander Chaushian
Sopranos: Zoe Nicolaidou

*** The Festival is thankful to Mr. Ghindin for replacing at a very short notice Mr. Sergei Babayan, who has been announced initially and who unfortunately had to cancel his participation this year for personal reasons.