Ensemble Het Collectief and Soprano Katrien Baerts

The 19th International Pharos Chamber Music Festival will open on Tuesday 14 May 2019 at the Pharos Arts Foundation’s recital venue, The Shoe Factory, in Nicosia with a concert by the renowned Belgian ensemble Het Collectief and the celebrated soprano Katrien Baerts, who has been described as “Breathtaking” and “astoundingly beautiful” (Place de l’ Opera), with “a voice and interpretation that are nothing less than a revelation” (Trouw) and “hair-raising feats of vocal agility” (The Telegraph). Their programme consists of an amazing blend of French chamber and vocal repertoire by Ravel, Debussy, Dutilleux and Philippe Gaubert interspersed with pieces by the Finnish Kaija Saariaho who is one of the foremost composers on the planet and one of the leading creative figures of her generation.

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937): Chansons Madécasses for Cello, Piano & Soprano (1925)
Kaija Saariaho (b.1952): Cendres (1998)
Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013): Sonatine for Flute & Piano (1943)
Kaija Saariaho (b.1952): Die Aussicht for Cello, Piano & Soprano (1998)


Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Le Balcon from Cinq poèmes de Baudelaire (1887)
Kaija Saariaho (b.1952): Oi kuu for Bass-Flute & Cello (1990)
Philippe Gaubert
 (1879-1941): Trois Aquarelles for Flute, Cello & Piano (1921)

Katrien Baerts
Ensemble Het Collectief
Chamber Music Ensemble