Thanos Mitsalas and the Cyprus Guitar Trio

In collaboration with the 15th International Guitar Festival EGTA – Cyprus, the Pharos Arts Foundation is proud to host a very special concert in The Shoe Factory in Nicosia, on Friday 16 April 2021 / 8:30pm. Cyprus guitarphiles will be treated to two distinct programmes in the same evening – a recital by the renowned Greek guitarist Thanos Mitsalas and a recital by the talented Cyprus Guitar Trio.

Enormous and evocative tonal range, world-class command of the instrument, and a unique and defining musical voice

Having been described by Classical Guitar Magazine as “a formidable guitarist” and praised by Minor 7th Magazine for his “enormous and evocative tonal range, world-class command of the instrument, and a unique and defining musical voice”, Thanos Mitsalas has been recognised as one of the leading guitarists of his generation. His rich musicianship as well as his tireless quest for artistic perfectionism have already credited him with the highest praise from the critics, while his intense musical intuition, flawless technique and personal style are captivating the audiences worldwide.

Founded in 2015, the Cyprus Guitar Trio is dedicated to the promotion of the important yet unexplored repertoire of the combination of three classical guitars, as well the creation of new works for this combination, and the arrangements and transcriptions of existing works.

The concert will feature works by Joaquín Rodrigo, Miguel Llobet, Agustín Barrios, Sergio Assad, Roland Dyens, Ferenc Farkas, Máximo Diego Pujol, amongst others.

Please note: Due to the Covid-19 restrictions, seating is limited, therefore the audience is advised to purchase their tickets in advance through the Pharos Arts Foundation’s box office.

Cyprus Guitar Trio

Roland Dyens: O trio magico
Ferdinand Rebay: Γαλλική σουίτα
Stephen Dodgson: Follow the Star
Ferenc Farkas: Csángó sonatina
Máximo Diego Pujol: Fin de Siglo


Thanos Mitsalas (guitar)

Joaquín Rodrigo: Tiento Antiguo
Miguel Llobet: Variations on a theme of F.Sor (Op.15a “Folias de Espana”)
Agustín Barrios Mangore: Un Sueno en la Floresta
Sergio Assad: Τoccata (from Sandy's portrait); Eli's Portrait; Preludio e toccatina (from “Aquarelle”); Seikilos Epitaph's Fantasy (αφιερωμένο στο Θάνο Μήτσαλα) THANOS MITSALAS guitar

Purchased through PayPal

Please note that your PayPal receipt is your ticket. Please present this at the door on the night of the concert. You will not receive any tickets by post.

The Cyprus Guitar Trio
Thanos Mitsalis
Event Details