Celebrating Beethoven – Kuss String Quartet – Concert 2

Goethe-Institut Zypern

This event is brought to you in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Zypern

For many people, Ludwig van Beethoven is perhaps the greatest genius music has ever known. His innovations had influenced the course of music, as well as the future generations of composers, so profoundly that the world we now know would have been a different place without him. Year 2020 marked the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, but alas, due to the pandemic, a number of Beethoven festivities had to be cancelled or postponed. The Pharos Arts Foundation and the Goethe-Institut Zypern collaborate in celebrating now – even with some delay – the anniversary of this great master by presenting two special concerts by the remarkable Kuss String Quartet.

With its unique approach to music-making, the Kuss Quartet ranks amongst the world’s most renowned ensembles, and their international career has taken them from New York’s Carnegie Hall to Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, from London’s Wigmore Hall back to the Philharmonie in Berlin, their home city. The two concerts, featuring two different programmes, will take place on Friday 25 and Saturday 26 June 2021, at the Pharos Arts Foundation’s magical open-air venue, The Olive Grove in Delikipos / 8:00pm.

CONCERT 2: Saturday 26 June 2021

For their second Beethoven concert, on Saturday 26 June 2021, the Kuss Quartet will magnificently open the programme with Beethoven’s not only last quartet, but the last major work he had managed to complete – String Quartet No.16 in F major, Op.135 (1826). Following this, Kuss will deliver what we are certain to be a peerless performance of the composer’s exuberant String Quartet No.15 in A minor, Op.132 (1825) – a work that inspired T. S. Eliot to write his legendary Four Quartets, and to declare: “There is a sort of heavenly or at least more than human gaiety about some of his later things which one imagines might come to oneself as the fruit of reconciliation and relief after immense suffering; I should like to get something of that into verse before I die”.

Για πολλούς ανθρώπους, ο Λούντβιχ βαν Μπετόβεν είναι ενδεχομένως η σπουδαιότερη μουσική ιδιοφυΐα που γνώρισε ποτέ η ανθρωπότητα. Οι καινοτομίες του είχαν επηρεάσει τόσο βαθιά την πορεία της μουσικής και τις μελλοντικές γενιές συνθετών, που ο κόσμος, έτσι όπως τον γνωρίζουμε σήμερα, θα ήταν πολύ διαφορετικός αν ο Μπετόβεν δεν είχε γεννηθεί ποτέ. Κι ενώ το έτος 2020 σηματοδοτούσε την 250η επέτειο από τη γέννησή του, λόγω της πανδημίας, αρκετές από τις εορταστικές εκδηλώσεις προς τιμή του μεγάλου συνθέτη έπρεπε δυστυχώς να ακυρωθούν ή να αναβληθούν. Το Ίδρυμα Τεχνών Φάρος σε συνεργασία με το Ινστιτούτο Γκαίτε Κύπρου γιορτάζουν τώρα – έστω και με λίγη καθυστέρηση – την επέτειο αυτής της τεράστιας μουσικής προσωπικότητας παρουσιάζοντας το διεθνούς φήμης Κουαρτέτο Εγχόρδων Kuss σε δύο μοναδικές συναυλίες με έργα Μπετόβεν.

Έχοντας διακριθεί για τη μοναδική του προσέγγιση στη μουσική διαδικασία, το Κουαρτέτο Εγχόρδων Kuss συγκαταλέγεται ανάμεσα στα πιο φημισμένα σύνολα ανά το παγκόσμιο, διαγράφοντας μια εντυπωσιακή διεθνή σταδιοδρομία που το οδήγησε από το Κάρνεγκι της Νέας Υόρκης στο Κοντσερτγκεμπάου του  Άμστερνταμ, από το Γουίγκμορ Χολ του Λονδίνου πίσω στη Φιλαρμονική του Βερολίνου, που είναι και η βάση του. Δύο συναυλίες με δύο πολύ διαφορετικά προγράμματα, οι οποίες θα πραγματοποιηθούν την Παρασκευή 25 και το Σάββατο 26 Ιουνίου 2021, στον υπαίθριο συναυλιακό χώρο του Ιδρύματος Τεχνών Φάρος, The Olive Grove στον Δελίκηπο, στις 8:00μμ.

ΣΥΝΑΥΛΙΑ 2: Σάββατο 26 Ιουνίου 2021

Για τη δεύτερή τους συναυλία, το Σάββατο 26 Ιουνίου 2021, το Κουαρτέτο Εγχόρδων Kuss θα ανοίξει μεγαλειωδώς το πρόγραμμα με το Κουαρτέτο Εγχόρδων Αρ.16 σε Φα μείζονα, Έργο 135 (1826) – το οποίο αποτελεί όχι μόνο το τελευταίο κουαρτέτο για έγχορδα του έγραψε ο Μπετόβεν, αλλά και το τελευταίο του σημαντικό έργο. Ακολούθως, οι Kuss θα μας χαρίσουν μια ανεπανάληπτη ερμηνεία στο δυναμικό Κουαρτέτο Εγχόρδων Αρ.15 σε Λα ελάσσονα, Έργο 132 (1825) – ένα έργο που είχε εμπνεύσει τον Τ.Σ. Έλιοτ να γράψει τα δικά του Τέσσερα Κουαρτέτα, δηλώνοντας: «Υπάρχει ένα είδος υπερκόσμιας ή τουλάχιστον πέρα της ανθρώπινης αγαλλίασης σε κάποια από τα ύστερα έργα του Μπετόβεν, τα οποία κάποιος θα μπορούσε να υποθέσει πως προκύπτουν ως καρπός συμφιλίωσης και ανακούφισης έπειτα από τεράστιο πόνο. Θα ήθελα κι εγώ να καταφέρω κάτι τέτοιο στον στίχο μου πριν πεθάνω».

String Quartet No.16 in F major, Op.135 (1826)

String Quartet No.15 in A minor, Op.132 (1825)

Kuss String Quartet

Box Office ticket sales for this event are now closed.

You can still purchase your ticket before the concert, at the door.

Event Details